Songs

I don’t know which is more surprising: that I sang at all (I cannot carry a recognizable tune) or that I sang a hymn (I am not religious).

It must have been something my wife said because I started singing,

Till we mee . . . ee . . . eet,
Till we mee . . . eet.
God be with you till we meet again.

“Oh,” my wife said. “That’s what they sing at funerals.”

Looking up the lyrics on the Internet, I think she’s right. (Keep in mind, this is a woman who as a teenager went to a Billy Graham revival, worked her way down to the stage and was accepted or anointed, or whatever he does, by Billy, himself. So she knows more about these things than I do.)

There are many versions of the song. You may be more familiar with another.

Rwalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Popular culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.