Gail Bonner Has Died

That’s all I know. I did not read her obituary. (Don’t send me other death notices. I assume you are all dead unless I have recently heard from you. Death is not the terrible condition we once assumed, and I do not usually publish death notices.)

But Gail was special. She had us all fooled. She was not the ditzy, kinky-haired bleach-blond we thought we knew. (Her picture in the masthead above is third row, 7th in from the bus drivers on the right, standing between Mary Kay Abbot and Jean Brown. Our Lahian lists her many school activities, our only clue that she was not the ditsy image she projected.)

After graduation, she dropped the ruse and showed us the intelligent, level-headed lady she always was beneath the surface.

If you know more about her, drop me a line. She is still largely a mystery to me. What did she die of? How was her home life? What did she do after high school? Was she married? Any children? She wrote to me once, but that was about 20 years ago.

Rwalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Popular culture. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Gail Bonner Has Died

  1. Brother Dave says:

    I recall reading Gail Bonners’ bio at the time of our 50 year reunion. She was active in youth soccer and was honored by having a soccer field named after her ( in her married name). I thought at the time that in a hundred years that field will probably be all that remains of class of ’54, unless it’ been paved over for a Walmart parking lot.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.