Phil Herr Died

Classmate Phil Herr died October 5. His obituary was in the Inquire (Philly.com) under “Death notices,” linked to Legacy.com.

He died in Ocean Grove, NJ, but had been living in Radnor, and was a partner in the law firm of his father and grandfather, Herr & Herr. He had graduated from Dickinson College.

He married Karla Marie Rueckert (still living) in 1960, and left two sons, a daughter, and eight grandchildren. (The family seems to have mostly settled in New Jersey.)

I recollect reading somewhere long ago, that his family home on South Lansdowne Avenue was sold to Mercy Fitzgerald Hospital.

Here is his entry in our 50th high school reunion booklet:

HERR, PHIL Spouse: Karla R. Herr
232 Berwind Road Children: 3
Radnor, PA 19087-3702 Grandchildren: 8
610-687-9139 philip.herr@verizon.net

After Dickinson College ‘58 & Dickinson Law School ‘60, I made the smartest move in my lifetime by marrying my wife of forty-four years. I was admitted to the Pennsylvania Bar in ‘61 after 6 months of active duty with Army Reserve. We stayed fairly close to home, living in Haverford Township and then Radnor. I joined my father’s law practice and went back to school for a Masters in Taxation at Villanova U. I am still “practicing” law – one of these days I will get it right. Our three wonderful children are happily married, the husbands being gainfully employed while the wives are “stay-at-home moms.” I have served as a director of many public companies & a large foundation in the Philadelphia area. I am active in our local church and a board member of the Ocean Grove Camp Meeting Assoc. of Ocean Grove, NJ, where I served as President for six years. These have been rich and wonderful years – but where did they go so quickly?

RWalck@Verizon.com

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Lansdowne, Popular culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

