Seventy Is the New Ninety

I was watching a performance that I accidentally discovered on America’s Got Talent  as I was changing channels. A twenty-something girl who was horribly burned in an airplane crash was singing a song she may have written herself, or it could be a well-known popular song that was not known well to me. Whatever—she got a standing ovation that seemed to be more for surviving the crash than her musical ability, but I am not the one to judge anything musical.

Her song was the typical young-person’s song of searching for love, for a life-mate, for herself (all the same search) which I agree is the most important task at that age. But I was stopped short with the line that went something like:

I will love you ‘till we are 70.

Seventy? I thought. That’s all? Your relationship is just starting to gel at 70, Girlie.  But I guess that’s the oldest she could imagine ever becoming, I kid you not.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Aging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

