Fake Eyelashes

I am amazed at how often I see fake eyelashes on female TV personalities.  I am first drawn in by their attractive eyes, but then I notice their eyelashes stick out like  dollar-store paint brushes, and I laugh at myself for being so gullible. The lashes are about an inch long, far longer than mine ever grow, jet black, and end unnaturally abruptly before they reach the corners of the eyelid.

I never notice fake eyelashes on the regular women I see every day in places such as the supermarket, no doubt because the lashes take such a steady hand and so much work to put on each morning.  And that is only the beginning.  I assume eye shadow covers the glue line. (My wife has never owned a pair of fake eyelashes, and neither have I, so I have no actual observations of the process.)

Are false eyelashes reusable, or does each application require a fresh pair? That could get expensive.

I pointed out the fake eyelashes on Kathy Orr on the photo I took of her on the Ocean City boardwalk, but I also explained she is a TV personality and has to meet her fans’ expectations. For me, she can do no wrong, but I only know her by the image she projects.

Checking my own eyelashes in a mirror, I see they are at most ¼ of an inch long, but very sparse and gray, not the jet black they once were.  I remember being about 8 years old and adult women exclaiming what beautiful, long eyelashes I had and how they will drive women wild with desire as I matured.  That never happened, and now they are gone.

My wife occasionally comments how mean my eyes have gotten.  Eyeballs don’t change, and my personality has not, either, so I think it is a result of my dwindling eyelashes.  Long eyelashes add an impression kindness to the eyes, which is why TV women wear the fakes.

So what? I don’t care. I judge kindness by actions, not eyelashes, as everyone should, I kid you not.

Still, as Andre Agassi used to say, “Attitude is everything.”  (And before that, “Image is everything.”) Maybe I should try fake eyelashes.  Or, maybe as a starter, mascara.

Better?

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Popular culture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fake Eyelashes

  1. Val says:

    Haha! What a curious topic for a blog post! I’ve never worn false eyelshes but knew many girls and women who did in the 1960s and 1970s.
    Best reason for tv women wearing false eyelashes? Distant shots by the camera probably wouldn’t pick up natural lashes. Or just vanity!

Leave a Reply

