What Is With Those Eyebrows?

I discussed all of this years ago in a posting prompted by Freda Kahlo’s mono brow. (I assume by now you all realize anything underlined and in blue is a hyperlink.  All you need to do is click on it and it will take you there, in most of mine in a new tab.)

The last I noticed, women’s eyebrows were comma-shaped, thick near the nose, then abruptly tapering off to a thin line.  The style must have had a name, but I never heard it. Now it’s too late. They are yesterday’s news, and, in fashion, yesterday is gone forever.

grouchoBut, while watching the recent Oscars, I noticed how women’s eyebrows have suddenly gotten much thicker, as if their makeup artist was Groucho Marx.

My question now is how the change happens so quickly and universally.  Do cosmeticians have conventions where they all decide to only do a new style? Do they publish this in some magazine that every woman reads, but is unknown to any man?  What is wrong with a natural eyebrow, anyway?  I never worried about my own.

Maybe I should.

Rwalck@Verixon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Popular culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

