Super Bowl Hype

superbowlI have never gone to a Super Bowl party at anyone’s house. I have never sat on someone’s sofa with my buddies watching the Super Bowl on a really, really big-screen TV. Nobody served me Buffalo wings, and beer, and nachos on that sofa. No babes in team jerseys joined in.  I never fondled a football while watching the Super Bowl, or any football game, even in my own house. I switch channels while the commercials are running.  I have no desire to watch them.  I do not watch the half-time show, not since Janet Jackson’s nip-slip. (Janet, I understand, is now pregnant.  That’s what results from a nip-slip.) I never stood up and cheered for any touchdown in any game on TV. I don’t watch any football pregame or post-game shows.   I never waved a giant foam finger that said, “We’re number one!” And I sure as heck would not pay many thousands to see any game in person.

Am I un-American?

In fact, I don’t even know anyone who does any of this stuff. Is it all just advertising hype? Probably. That’s the American way (advertising hype, that is).

Or, the Super Bowl could all be a thing for a younger crowd.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Popular culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

