Contracting Out Auto Repair

auto-repairMy 1990 Mazda pickup is eligible for a Delaware antique car license plate (25 years old), so of course I have a favorite repair shop.  It is within an easy walking distance. I can drop off my pickup, walk home, then walk back again to get it. Very convenient.

But every time I go, I get a different mechanic, and they can always schedule me for the next day. So, the last time I went, I asked, “Are you guys salaried, or independent contractors pulled in for specific jobs?”

Their evasive answer told me what I wanted to know.

I was just curious. Doesn’t really matter to me how they run their business.

Maybe your favorite shop works the same. Ask them, but don’t expect a straight answer.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Popular culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

