Baleful

One important use of my Nexus 7 tablet is as a dictionary always by my side as I read. That use alone is worth it’s cost (about $100, but no longer available). It finds not only definitions, but it shows me places on a map, and biographies of people I never heard of, and foreign words (do you know what a porte cochere is?).  Much better than a dictionary. It can even pronounce a word for me, in someone’s actual voice, without my even knowing the difference between a long and short vowel.

I type the first few letters, and the word I am looking for almost always comes up as one of the suggestions.

I look up words I always thought I knew, just as a check.

I am often surprised.

hound-dog

Not baleful.

I always thought “baleful” meant melancholy, sad, like the baleful look of a hound dog. But “baleful” means threatening, even deadly.  Big difference.

Now, if someone tells me a dog has a baleful look, I will take heed. Thanks, tablet. You may have saved me a trip to the ER.

Never too old to learn, I kid you not.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Writers and Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

