Turner Milk

milk-manI was trying to remember the once-familiar name of the company that delivered our milk when I was growing up. I knew it was neither of the two biggies, Sealtest and Abbotts. If I only saw it, I would recognize it. I Googled “Delaware County dairies” that surprisingly turned up a historic site that lists 79 dairies in our area.  (J. E. Doyle of Lansdowne is listed.)  I would not have guessed there were that many.  Apparently, even small dairy farms bottled and sold their own brand.  I quickly recognized our old one: Turner. (I always liked the sound of that name and was proud to drink their milk.)

I should have expected all of this information would be available. At the Peirce–du Pont House at Longwood Gardens, visitors linger most at the pantry. It has a huge safe holding the silver, but one visitor told me the humble Longwood Farms milk bottle sitting on the table (but discretely anchored down and out of reach), possibly a reproduction, could be more valuable than the silver. Old milk bottles are highly collectable, as are even their cardboard caps that we all threw away. Of course, that is why those remaining are valuable today.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in History, Lansdowne, Longwood Gardens, Popular culture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

