Mitch

About 20 years ago when I was still a young man in my late 50s, I got to know Mitch, as I’ll call him, a guy about 10 years older than me. He was long a widower, but one day I he brought a woman his age to our community center pool. He was very solicitous of her, even fawning over her. She was very sharp, very good-looking, and she deserved his attention, but they did not match. He was bald, had a hairy paunch, and was what I would call “socially challenged.”

I did not see her again, and after about a month, I asked Mitch if they were still going together. “Oh, no,” he said. “I broke up with her.  I told her we share much together. I take her grocery shopping and to movies. We go to restaurants. We share the bills. We share everything except her body. If she won’t share that, I want to end our relationship.”

Yipes! I looked at the ceiling and rolled my eyes. Way, way too much information, but that was typical Mitch.

Men see sex as entertainment, at any age. Women see sex as a means of reproduction. So, as we get older, men are still looking for entertainment, while women think, “What’s the point? Let’s go to a fancy restaurant instead.”

Okay, that may be an overstatement, but still has a lot of truth. In the years after retirement, I was the lifeguard in our community center pool, and many older women confided in me the approaches they had to fend off, even from married men their age who I knew well. I was surprised and embarrassed for both of them, I kid you not. (See posting  “Old Men Hitting On Old Women,” 12/5/2013.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Aging, Popular culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

