The Amazing Bosom

Key without the tag.

The key without the tag.

While at Longwood Gardens, I handed a large, 5-inch, antique key attached to an even larger metal tag to a stout (-ish), older woman employee who promptly dropped the whole thing down her bosom.

Plop!— gone, like an ice cream truck down a Florida sinkhole.  (I don’t want to cast her in a bad light.  She is helpful, knowledgeable, and younger than me.)

To use her bosom for storage was certainly handy, but wasn’t the key assembly cold and uncomfortable?  And how would she get it out? Lean over and jiggle?

My grandmom and other ladies her age used their bosoms as pocketbooks all the time, but I haven’t seen a woman do it for years, certainly not any younger women. Why the change? Are women’s underclothes made differently now? Are women today more active and objects would fall out without a Velcro closure?

How many women do I see every day that are walking around with a chest full of reading glasses, pens, address books, Kleenex packs, and car keys?  My grandmom could carry a full set of dishes for 12 in there, or maybe it just looked that way from my low perspective.

(I like the word “bosom.”  It refers to that section of the anatomy without the slightest suggestion of sexuality.  Think of “the bosom of Abraham.”  It should be used more. When I used the term years ago with my granddaughter, she rolled on the floor shrieking with laughter and repeated it all that day, over and over, pronouncing it “BOO-zum.)

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in History, Longwood Gardens, Popular culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

