Panhandled Again!

Last year I wrote about being panhandled in our mall parking lot one evening by a reasonably attractive woman (posting of 6/12/2015).

Now it has happened again, this time about 1:00 in the afternoon inside of our Super G grocery store. I was in an empty aisle, scanning the shelves for my favorite brand of strawberry jelly, when a bold, attractive girl in her 20s, different than the first one, came up behind me and asked if I had a spare dollar.

I barely looked up and just said, “No, no,” without anger.  Being panhandled is only an annoyance, nothing to get upset about.  She held up her hands, backed off, and said that was okay, and moved on. I found my jelly and moved on, too. I didn’t even bother telling the manager, who probably would have ejected her from the store. I had other things to do.  And, she could claim she didn’t actually ask for money, only if I had a spare dollar. Maybe she was collecting for the girl scouts.

I was too off-guard to give my usual answer, “Sorry, I’m not from here,” which has always been successful when I can see it coming.  While they are still puzzling over that non sequitur, I’m gone.

I’ll try to be better prepared next time, as surely there will be a next time. I’ll tell her (surely, too, it will be a woman), “I’ll give you $5 if you tell me why you picked me. Do I look stupid? Lonely? Horny? Soft-hearted? Soft-headed? Or just old? What?  I would gladly pay $5 to know.”

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Popular culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

