Top Tier Universities

degreeWhat is a top tier university?

I recently read an editorial arguing that the admission of ill-prepared minority students to top tier universities is doing them a disservice because they often drop out before graduation when they would have thrived at a second or third tier university.

But I am not here to argue that case either way.

My question is, What is this all about tiers? My guidance councilor never said anything about tiers. Is it an official ranking, or just an apocryphal impression? How many tiers are there?  Do tiers change, or once a third tier, always a third tier?

Mary Kay Abbot from our class (7th girl from the right, back row, in the masthead photo above) went on to Vassar, and I would think that has got to be a top-tier university. She was top-tier, herself.  Do top tier-people go to top-tier universities? I chose Penn State over Gettysburg. Is Penn State a second tier university? What, then, is Gettysburg? Second or third? Did I make the right choice? I feel that I thrived at Penn State (except for my German classes), but I have nothing to compare it with. Could I have done even better somewhere else?

It is like wondering if you married the right person. Forget it—you are only asking for trouble, and it is too late to change anyway. Count your blessings instead.  They might start wondering if you were the right person.  Maybe they could have married someone a tier or two higher than you.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Popular culture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

