A Historical Photo at Longwood Gardens

About a month ago, two elderly ladies (but still younger than me) came into the Peirce-du Pont House at Longwood Gardens and showed me a vintage photo stored on their phone of two teenage boys sitting on a stone wall that they knew was somewhere in the Gardens. Did I recognize the location? Both boys are dead now (probably from old age) and the women came specifically to visit the site. The ladies were probably their widows, but I did not think to ask.

I did not recognize the location or even imagine where it could have been, so I took the phone with the photo upstairs to the staff offices. They immediately recognized it as the wall next to the bus parking lot, about to only place in Longwood that is unfamiliar to me. Sure enough, the setting exactly matched the photo, except that the saplings in the background are now mature trees. We could easily imagine the smiling boys still sitting there.

If anyone knows more about this, please contact me. I would love to know the story of the photo, and I am kicking myself for not getting more information at the time.  Longwood Gardens keeps archives of stories like that, and that’s where this one belongs.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Longwood Gardens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

