Fresh Orange Juice

Note the bubbles.

This has bubbles.

In my early days working as a fill-in doorman at the Rittenhouse Claridge in Philadelphia, I delivered a glass of fresh orange juice to an apartment, but the owner would not accept it. “Take it back. It’s not fresh,” he said.

“It should be,” I replied. “What makes you think it’s not fresh?”

“It doesn’t have bubbles. Fresh orange juice has bubbles.”

So I took it back to the kitchen and told the chef, “He says it’s not fresh. It has no bubbles.”

The chef took the glass, stuck in a straw, and blew through it. ” Phhtt!  There, now it has bubbles.”

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Philadelphia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.