Clickbait

“Word on the Street” by Ben Zimmer. The Wall Street Journal, 6/6/2015.

“Clickbait” is a new addition to Merriam-Webster’s Unabridged Dictionary. It means a disingenuous Internet item, such as a photo or racy headline, designed to entice someone gullible like me to click on a hyperlink.  (The more clicks they get, the more they can charge for advertisements.)

Boy, do I see that a lot. Sure, show me that 90-year-old yoga teacher who looks 40. Sure, show me that unbelievable photo of Kim Kardashian.  Sure, show me the 50 worst wardrobe malfunctions of all time.  I fall for them all.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Popular culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

