The Fountain of Youth

Older than she looks.

A few women in our Senior Center stand out because they look so amazingly young. They must be in their 70s, but could easily pass for 50.

My “Ah-ha” moment came after a conversation with one of them. As we were talking, a coed from the nearby Widner Law School walked past. “Oh, she’s pretty,” said FOY (Fountain of Youth).

“Of course she is,” I replied.  “She’s only about 20.  But someday she’ll have to go through menopause.  Then what?”

“Well, I never went through menopause. I had a hysterectomy years ago.”

“Too much information,” I thought.

The implications of her statement did not register until the next day:  She is taking hormones and has been for a long time. So are the others. Heck, I would look good, too, if I took hormones all those years.  Many of you women must be laughing at my naïveté, but other men my age are equally clueless.

She may even look too young, if such a thing is possible.  Maybe she should cut back a tad on the dose.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Aging, Popular culture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

