Tintypes

OP 1907-031 CompositeI am really very good-looking—considering my ancestors. And here is proof: two Photoshop-enhanced (for this posting) tintypes of my maternal great-grandmother with my aunt on her lap. My aunt, cute as a button (the same one shown in the posting of July 3, 2014 as a young woman on her first job in 1922 as an office clerk), was born in 1903, so I’m guessing the photo is from about 1906, most likely at an Atlantic City boardwalk studio. The tintypes are identical except for one thing. Do you see it?

It is her feet. When she saw the first copy, she must have complained about her feet looking unnaturally big. The photographer chemically removed them on the second copy by wiping them with something like a Q-tip or the corner of a rag. Both copies survived, so I assume it was not a big deal to her. She probably kept the one with feet for herself, and put the one without feet in the family album.

Love the hair-do, Granny!  I see where my hirsute impairment came from.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in History and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

