See You at Longwood (Maybe)

Peirce-du Pont House at Longwood Gardens

Peirce-du Pont House at Longwood Gardens

Earlier this year, classmate Wayne Kressley surprised me with his greeting while I was volunteering at Longwood Gardens. (Check out his photos at http://www.flickr.com/photos/waynefromwayne.  When he created the account, he was living in Wayne, PA.)

If you are at Longwood, by all means stop by at the Peirce-du Pont House where I am posted. I would love to see you, but I probably won’t be there. I normally do one half-day shift a week (4x the minimum they require) which is only 5% of the time they are open. And I have no set schedule. We sign up for any open time slot on an online calendar, sometimes just a few days in advance, so we are not committed to any specific time every week. It is very convenient. We can go off on vacation without finding someone to fill in for us, or just slack off for a while if we want to. I usually pick a time on the weekend when I am most needed.

Any other volunteer you see there probably never heard of me. (Actually, they have, but don’t remember.) We volunteers usually see each other only briefly as we change shifts, then spend the next hours talking with dozens of visitors. I barely remember the face of who I replaced, much less their name.   But, I am not proud of this and am trying to improve.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Longwood Gardens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

