Thingies, Selfies, Shelfies, and Now Theifties

PiggybackYears ago my grandchildren and I developed a game where one would climb on my back and I would pretend not to know they were there and stagger around a bit. “I must be getting too fat. I can hardly walk anymore. I better sit down,” I would say. Then I would wonder why the chair was so lumpy, looking to the right and left as they ducked and squealed with delight. One granddaughter invented the name the “Weight Thingy,” and it stuck.  They loved it, and requested it over and over and over.

(Kids always love games where an adult plays stupid, uncoordinated, or incompetent—and lets them win. They are so easy to entertain that way. I always lose at Old Maid because I pick from their hand the card standing an inch higher than the others that they move under my fingers. When it is the Old Maid card, I act shocked and they howl with laughter.  Like Santa Clause once was, they know the truth, but enjoy going along with the charade.)

Last year, we all became familiar with the term “selfie,”  a word that became so common it was designated as the new word of the year (see posting of 9/16/2013).  A recent takeoff on that was the “shelfie” (see posting of 4/26/2014).

Now, described in the Wall Street Journal, is a “theiftie.” A theiftie is part of a new app to thwart the theft of a cell phone, or at least help bring the perps to justice. If it detects suspicious behavior, such as unsuccessful entry of a password three times, it will surreptitiously take a photo of the person holding the phone and email it to you along with the location it gets from the built-in GPS.  You can then call your phone to demand its return. (“I know who you are and where you are, so you better bring it back!”)

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Popular culture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

