A Non-Voter

Phew!  It’s finally over.  Did my candidate win?  No.  So I am a sulking Romney fan?  No, again.

I take pride in being a non-voter on principle.  A candidate has to earn my vote, and neither did. If only there were more like me maybe they would try harder.

We have a financial disaster looming, and I am not just talking about the Fiscal Cliff.  That should pass.  Both sides have reason to soften.  The Tea Party faction has taken a thumping, and Obama, with four more years guaranteed, can yield for now.  What must come later has me concerned. The hard truths were begging to be answered, yet neither candidate would say just what they plan to do about them.  Many times they were asked and asked again, but both danced away from an answer, thinking we would not notice. Both pretended it all depended on whether or not to tax the rich an extra few percent and would not require any sacrifice on our part.

Another criteria I have (that seems obvious) is truthfulness.  I refuse to vote for any candidate who knowingly takes their opponent’s words out of context and twists them around to misrepresent them.  That is lying, plain and simple, and both candidates did this over and over.  Who would vote for a liar?  I am surprised that they got any votes at all.

Truman said he won over Dewey in 1948 by getting out and telling the voters the plain truth without concern for the changing polls.  Neither candidate this year was Truman.

One comment on the election results:  I hope you like our Joe Biden, because Obama is aging fast and the worst stress is yet to come.  I am not sure he will make it through the next four years.

But now I have to tell the truth.  I did vote.  The school where we always voted closed down, and our new place is at the Unitarian Church right across the street.  I wanted to see how they were set up.  Since neither major candidate earned my vote, I voted straight Libertarian.  I knew nothing about them as individuals except they could not possibly win.  I did find Ron Paul refreshing and maybe they are something like him.  We did have several local candidates running for office, but how could I vote for a person who trashed up my neighborhood with their signs?  That eliminated all but the Libertarians who had no money for signs.

I hope I am still around for the next election so I can really not vote.  I pledge to be more committed to my principles.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

