Longwood Gardens Fireworks

I do not like fireworks, even free ones, and I never considered paying to see the special displays at Longwood Gardens.  But my wife and I were volunteering at the Peirce-du Pont House over the Labor Day weekend when they had them and our shift ended just as the fireworks started.  I could not not see them.

The place was sold out.  Obviously, many people were willing to pay to be there.   And, it was the best display I have ever seen, a spectacular one of unique explosions, music, and fountains in the background, all experienced close-up and in comfort.  The conservatory and grounds (with a summer-long optical fiber light show) stayed open until 11 p.m., an added attraction that helped spread out the departing crowds.  I highly recommend future ones to any fireworks fan, even to non-fans like me.  Maybe I was wrong all these years.

If you wanted to go all-out, you could have also signed up for the preceding summer barbeque, expensive, but extremely elegant with white table cloths and uniformed servers, appropriate for a guest of Pierre du Pont himself.  I cannot imagine anyone leaving disappointed.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Longwood Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

