Hacked!

A hacker somehow got hold of my email address list and sent everyone the message to check out a linked web site.  I did not—and would not—click on it to see what it was about, but I suspect it is an ad for some sort of employment.  (Neither do I respond to widows of Nigerian Ministers of Finance.)

If you got one, the email had “Hi” for its subject and my name as the sender.  I restored my system to a date before the email and ran a full scan that showed no viruses on my hard drive.  I am guessing the hack could have been at Yahoo! that handles my email (via Verizon) and there was nothing I could have done to prevent it.

I do not think your computer would be infected, even if you did click on the link.  The Windows operating system is much more robust than it once was, and a rogue program cannot install or change your computer without your permission. Just be wary of email from anyone that does not “sound” like them.  Weak advice, I admit.

On the positive side, I have heard from a lot of people I thought were dead, and some I don’t even remember.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hacked!

  1. MartyL says:

    my wife is also a verizon customer – could this be the source of the addresses and names?

  2. vilebo.ch says:

    My brother suggested I may like this website. He was once entirely right.

    This submit actually made my day. You can not consider just how a lot time I had spent for this info!
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

