High School Teachers

Many of you no longer have your graduation Lahian, so here is a list of our teachers to refresh your memory:

Adams, Sarah.  Spanish
Ankeny, Mildred.  DE
Bender, Grace.  English
Black, Lloyd.  PE
Brown, Thomas. Driver’s Ed
Christ, Virginia.  English
Cook, Margaret.  Latin
Corbin, Don.  Music
Davies, Gomer.  English
Davis, Kathryn.  Art
Drake, Howard.  History
Epley, George.  Biology
Felter, Janet.  Business
Forbes, Charles.  Science
Freeman, L. Howard.  Math
Gershman, Louis.  Journalism
Hart, Mildred.  Hockey
Hort, Helen.  English
Hartman, Martha.  English
Hershock, Howard.  Metal shop
Hoopes, Mildred.  French
Hubley, Martin.  Football
Hulme, Arthur.  Math
Kraber, Ray.  Business
Laubach, Horace.  English
McClure, Paul.  Chemistry, Physics
McCullough, Margaret.  English
Mitchell, Harry.  Band
Moore, Joseph.  Principal
Morris, Esther.  Geometry
Preitz, Clarence.  Woodshop
Radcliffe, William.  Basketball
Rank, John.  Science
Richards, Lawrence.  World Affairs
Sheafer, Charlotte.  Librarian
Sinnamon, Edna.  Tennis
Smith, Dale.  Business
Snyder, Edwin.  World History
Stephens, Helen.  Home Ec.
Stevens, Margaret.  Home Ec.
Straley, Grace.  Social Studies
Talcott, Nancy-Jeanne.  Social Studies
Vart, Janet.  Social Studies

I have included their first names, although they sound very strange, as if they should not have first names.  I was surprised how many teachers I had no memory of because I was never in their class.  I included the subject I think each one taught, but my memory may be wrong.  Even if I am right, many taught several subjects and you may remember them for something else.

Our notorious A. Todd Coronway is not there, and neither is he in my 1953 Lahian, but  I had him for math in 1952.  (See post of 6/17/2005)

Several teachers taught Social Studies.  We all had to take it, but I have no recollection of the class, or even what it was about.  I still don’t know.  What is Social Studies, anyway?  Either I learned nothing in the class or, more likely, what I learned entered into my store of  “common sense”  and my “art of living well.”

I had mentioned in the previous post of 9/20 that a new receptionist at our community center is a 1959 graduate of LAHS.  We shared our Lahians,  and I was surprised at the teacher turnover in only five years.  We think of our group of teachers as permanent as the Appalachians, always there and always will be, but a better metaphor is a constantly changing river that once carried us downstream to the next landing.

Those who are gone in those short five years fall into two categories, the older ones who retired, and the younger who moved on to greener pastures.  Gone are:  Miss Bender, Miss Cook, Mr. Gomer Davies, Miss Davis, Mr. Drake, Mr. Epley, Miss Hart, Miss Hartman, Mr. Hershock (who gave me my only failing grade, as he should have), Miss Hoopes, Mr. Hubley, Mr. Hume, Mr. Kraber, Mr. Laubach, Mr. Mitchell, Mr. Smith, Mrs. Stephens, Miss Stevens, and Miss Vart.  (So many women teachers were single.)

On the positive side, our own Juliet Calabro is shown as part of the office staff, and Bill Kabakjian, one half of the Kabakjian twins who were one year ahead of us (see 7/12/05 posting), is a teacher and looking very well with his added maturity.  Miss Sinnamon is Mrs. Hoffman, and Miss Talcott is Mrs. Everest.

Where are you now, Miss Bender, first love, object of my youthful fantasies?   Are you still alive, a crone in a nursing home somewhere?  I don’t want to know.  Remain forever young.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Lansdowne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

