On the Ocean City Boardwalk

IMG_9303Ocean City has long supplemented their budget by attaching memorial plaques to their boardwalk benches.  You may have noticed some at our 50th.  Here are three I photographed a few days ago.  I have no idea who these people are.  This one to Bob and Toni Hunter is typical.

IMG_9307The memorial to Kori Wise Beer was puzzling.  Was this a person?—or the product of a defunct local brewery?   “Draw me a draft of Kori Wise, Barkeep!”   According to a quick Google search, she was a well-liked, real person who had her own local PR company and sounds like someone I would want to have known.

I would not recommend living by her motto, or at least the motto someone assigned to her, “Dance as if no one is watching.”    A better motto would be, “Dance as if your mother is watching,” but no one wants to hear that.  As Thomas Jefferson advised,” whenever you do a thing, act as if all the world were watching.”

IMG_9304Best of all is the one from Ocean City High School, Class of 1952.  They sound like a good bunch.  If any of you OCHSers read this, join us at the Music Pier next June 11.  We’ll all sit on your bench with you.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Popular culture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the Ocean City Boardwalk

  1. Carol says:

    I actually knew Kori Wise Beer. We went to high school together. She was a lively redheaded cheerleader, and a sweet girl. I heard through mutual friends that she took her own life a few years ago. I have no idea why. She was a nice person, and a plaque in OC is the least she deserves.

  2. Andrea says:

    She was a real person and one that I was happy to call my friend. I think she would laugh at this entry. I am glad to hear that there is a plaque in her memory and will make a point to find it next time I am in OC. Great memories with a very special person. Rest in peace my friend…rest in peace. You will never be forgotten…

  3. Marc W says:

    She was my cousin. Her maiden name was the same last name I have. I didn’t know her well – we lived a distance from each other, but I remember going to her bat mitzvah. From what I’ve heard she was a very special person and she is missed. And I still remember her when I was a little kid – she was a few years older than me.

Leave a Reply

