Complements

“At 40, a woman must chose between her face and her ass—nice ass, gaunt face; good face, fat ass.” That quote comes from a recent review of a new book, The Thing About Life Is That One Day You’ll be Dead.

Interesting insight.  I will begin researching that, but I would never say it..

It was about 15 years ago that I learned to complement women.  Or, more accurately, I learned I had reached an age where a complement was no longer seen as a come-on, which would be laughable, but simply for what it was: a complement.

I was traveling alone to check on my failing father in Florida and was waiting for my departing flight at the Philadelphia Airport.  As usual, I had chosen a good people-watching seat facing the concourse and was soon joined by a dapper, gregarious, athletic black man in his 50s.  We started discussing the funny way many people dressed, even one guy wearing two hats, a baseball cap under a cowboy hat.  “Hey, that’s my brother,” my companion exclaimed, and soon all three of us were seated side-by-side laughing at the people rushing by.

The brother spotted a very attractive, well-dressed, young businesswoman approaching, and he prodded us, shouting, “Oh, look at that! She fine!  Stand up, we need to give her some love.”

So, all three of us stood up and applauded as she hurried by.  I fully expected to be hauled off to airport security, but her stressed-out face lit up with pleased, slightly embarrassed surprise.  We had clearly made her day, which was all we wanted to do.

Airports are full of pretty, stressed-out women, and we repeated the procedure over and over for the next half-hour, and always got a positive response.  We made the day for many women.

Since that lesson, I have given many effuse, over-the-top complements to women, even many who didn’t deserve it.  Entering a mall, I will typically hold a door for a frazzled mother struggling with two toddlers and a stroller and say something like, “Come right ahead, Pretty Lady,”  as I theatrically tip my hat.  They have not heard anything like this for years.

Of course, I do not do this if my wife is along, not that I am afraid of her disapproval, but that it would be disrespectful.  And, I am not mocking them or being untruthful.  I fully agree with the lecherous Papa Karamazov who said all women have something beautiful and desirable to offer.  The fun is in finding it.

You know, you do have a very pretty face.

RWalck@Verizon.net

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Popular culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

