Pseudonyms

I was only kidding in a previous blog saying I used the classy pseudonym “E. Carleton Abbot”  for a restaurant reservation.  But the truth is, I often do use the pseudonym “Rodregeus.”  Several years ago, I phoned in a pickup order at a local Mexican restaurant and gave my name as “Walck.”  When I got there, it was not ready, and fifteen minutes later, it still was not ready.  Finally, the guy at the counter asked me what I ordered and found it had been sitting there all the time.  He did not understand the name.

Weeks later, on the next order, I gave the name “Rodregeus.”   As soon as I walked in, he asked, “Are you Rodregeus?”

“Yes, I am!”  I proudly replied and got the order right away, prepared, I might add, a little better than usual.

I have since used it at all sorts of places.  Everyone recognizes “Rodregeus” as a family name, it is not similar to any other word, and it is long enough to register in their minds.  When I give my name as “Walck,” people think I misunderstood the question or maybe just coughed.

If I need a first name, I use “Carlos.”  If Missy is with me, we are “Carlos and Wanda.”

I have also created a pseudonym by a formula I had once read about.  Take your middle name and the name of the street you live on.  Thus, I am “Alan Halstead.”  Sounds pretty good. Marie Gelletich lives in France on Rte. deBelfays.  She could be “The Countess deBelfays.”

It doesn’t work for everybody, but you can cheat a little.  Nancy Musser lives on Ocean Drive, but in Lansdowne she lived on Greenwood Avenue and could use that, instead.  Fred Weinstein lives on South 10th Street in Philadelphia, but Fitzwater Street is only a block away.  Just suggestions.

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

