College Days

Recently I have been working on my computer archives of scanned old family photographs, improving the way I recorded the who and where of each.

One group of photos was when we took my sister to Allegheny College to start her freshman year in 1951.  I was surprised how dressed up we all were, me in a sports jacket and my mother and sister each in a dark skirt and jacket with a white blouse.  My father must have been taking the pictures, but I am sure he was wearing a suit befitting a CPA.

I live close enough to the University of Delaware to see some of the arriving freshmen each year.  To bring you up-to-date, the standard dress has long been flip-flops and shorts, tank tops for the girls and sleeveless T’s for the guys.

And that’s just the parents.

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in History, Popular culture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

