Highland Avenue School

I need memory help from some of you out there who went to Highland Avenue Junior High School, a very old building that was once the high school.

Did we or did we not have rooms called “Coat Rooms?”   The disagreement is in the name.  There is no question that we did have separate rooms to hang our coats, and a classmate claims that’s what they were called.

As I remember it,  they were called “Cloak Rooms,”  a term that struck me as old-fashioned even then.  It was as if we all wore little cloaks and slunk around like Dracula with our arms over our faces.  “I am goink to the cloak room to sock your blood!”

Roger Walck

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.