Ocean City Mini-Reunion, June 11

The mini-reunion on June 11 was a success. Five of us were there: Leon West, Jerry Jerome, Nancy Leith Musser, Dan Powell, and me. The area weather prediction was for muggy temperatures with afternoon thundershowers, but in Ocean City it was a perfectly sunny and cool day. The boardwalk was crowded with happy families and groups of new high school graduates.

Leon and I try to get together once a year, but since we can get together anytime, the year can pass without anything happening. This gave us a definite date to plan for. Jerry, also in our high school group, joined our plans. Our wives are nursing school classmates, so it was a reunion for all of us.

The real treat was seeing Dan Powell and Nancy Leith. Both remember EVERYTHING! They were in different high school groups than Leon, Jerry, and I, so they told stories I had never heard before (maybe about you). So, with them, it was more learning new things than reminiscing about common memories. Nancy brought copies of many photos and revealed them one-by-one throughout the day, even one of me at a church youth retreat I had never seen before. The best were of her wedding to Jim showing Beth Mellott, Joan Carberry, Marian Bell, Blanche Kurtz, Joan Maher, and Marel Harlow.

We had all driven to Ocean City just for the day, so later in the afternoon, Dan and his wife Dee left for home, and the rest of us split up for dinner. Jerry, Leon and their wives went to Cousin’s (good) and my wife and I joined Nancy at Mack and Manco pizza, one of the best. Nancy even took a pizza back to Avalon for her son.

So, there were only five of us, but I liked that better. Instead of running from person-to-person, I could concentrate on one at a time and really learn something about them.

Roger Walck

(Add your comments by clicking below)

About Roger Walck

My reasons for writing this blog are spelled out in the posting of 10/1/2012, Montaigne's Essays. They are probably not what you think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ocean City Mini-Reunion, June 11

  1. Unknown says:

    ROGER WHAT A GREAT PRESENTATION!!! I KNOW HOW MUCH FUN I HAD LAST YEAR DOINF THE 50TH. SORRY I COULDN’T MEET WITH YOU ON SAT. BUT IT WAS MY GRANDSON’S GRAD FROM HS. HOPEFULLY NEXT YEAR. THANKS FOR KEEPING IT GOING.

  2. Unknown says:

    Glad to hear the mini-reunion was a success. I was babysitting here in NC with two of my grandchildren, but my thoughts were of Ocean City and all of you. The comments about Mr. Cronway really cracked me up! I could picture him doing that as if it were yesterday! Thanks, Roger, for discovering this BLOG!

  3. Unknown says:

    Thank you for your email.. You have done a great service to us. I wish I knew all of you guys better. I just got in touch with "Snook" , Eddy Fitsimmons and Bill Scott during the 50th Reunion. I will try and send a few pictures that I have from that one.. Thank you for all your great work in keeping us posted . Rich Raezer

  4. Marilyn Fox says:

    Thanks for the info and the photo, Roger. So glad at least five of you got together. Mary Kay and her husband had a mini-reunion with us here at my home in May. It was great! She was visiting relatives about one hour away. I still have my copy of the Wash. D.C. class photo! Thanks, again, for all you are doing. Will keep in touch. This is my first Blog connection. Marilyn

  5. Unknown says:

    I think this is a great idea, but I am sad that we are so far away Art Mitchell and I had a mini reunion in Vancouver,BC on saturday the 13th. Art was returning from an Alaskan cruise, and my husband and I drove up to meet him. Anyone else traveling west, is welcome to let me know, and we’ll try to get together.

Leave a Reply

